Town of Rockingham Volunteers Recognized for Outstanding Contributions

Garry Williams, Mayor Deb Hamblin Carolyn Wilson, Digby Wilson and Jane McCrea of ​​the Secret Harbor Surf Lifesaving Club. Photos: Town of Rockingham

Volunteers from local advisory groups and the City of Rockingham Emergency Services were recognized for their outstanding contribution.

More than 130 volunteers and guests were recognized at the event last week, which was highlighted by the presentation of four Western Australian Volunteer Service Awards.

The WA Volunteer Service Awards honor volunteers who have provided 25 or more years of service to a single organization.

The four recognized honorees are all proud and loyal members of the Rockingham-Kwinana State Emergency Service (SES) and included:

– Andrew Jenner (Joined 1981).

– David Catchlove (Registered in 1992).

– Jason Hill (Joined 1992).

– Peter Noble (Registered in 1994).

(LR) Deputy Mayor Hayley Edwards, Mayor Deb Hamblin, Andrew Jenner, David Catchlove and Peter Noble of Rockingham-Kwinana SES, Cr Lorna Buchan and Cr Caroline Hume.

Rockingham Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service was also recognized for 55 years of service to the local community, while the Secret Harbor Surf Lifesaving Club’s 40-year association with Surf Lifesaving WA was also celebrated.

Rockingham Town Mayor Deb Hamblin said volunteers are the heart of the community.

“Celebrating the City’s volunteers provides an opportunity to recognize the effort and passion that volunteers from our advisory groups and emergency services devote to their respective causes,” said Mayor Hamblin.

“Their work is essential to making our city a better place to live and we are fortunate to have so many volunteers who are a shining example of what it means to give back to the community.

“The City thanks them all for their tremendous contribution.

A total of 13 advisory groups and nine emergency services groups were officially recognized at the event and they include:

Advisory Committees and Working Groups

Emergency Service Groups

Elders Advisory Committee

Department of Fire and Emergency Services

Bushfire Advisory Committee

Baldivis Volunteer Fire and Emergency Services

Community Safety and Support Services Advisory Committee

Rockingham Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service

Environmental Advisory Committee

Rockingham Sea Rescue

World Friendship Committee

Secret Harbor Surf Lifesaving Club

Heritage Reference Group

Secret Harbor Fire and Rescue Volunteer

St John Ambulance WA (Rockingham unit)

Local Emergency Management Committee

Rockingham-Kwinana SES

Road advisory committee

Representatives of HMAS Stirling

Rockingham Education and Training Advisory Committee

Sports Advisory Committee

Indigenous Advisory Group

Cultural Development and Arts Advisory Committee

Disability Access and Inclusion Advisory Committee

Jim Bratby, Darby Munro, Shanelle Bartholomew, Aaron Boon and Jay Tootill of the Rockingham Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service.

Comments are closed.